Welcome to the website of the Expert Committee on Snakebite of the Sri Lanka Medical Association. This committee is the oldest expert committee of the SLMA: you can read about its past history and the work it has done in the section on History. Other tabs will let you access the Guidelines on the Management of Snakebite 2017, the 24-hour Hotline for advice on coping with treatment dilemmas and advice on Prevention and Treatment of Snakebite that is also available in Sinhala and Tamil.

Many persons have served on the committee over the years. The current Co-Chairs and members who have been involved in drafting the Management Guidelines 2017 are listed below in alphabetical order of the surname:

  • Prof. Kolitha Sellahewa – Co-Chair
  • Prof. S. A. M. Kularatne – Co-Chair
  • Dr. Vinya Ariyaratna
  • Mr. Anslem de Silva
  • Dr. Shantha de Silva
  • Dr. Udaya de Silva
  • Dr. Christo Fernando
  • Dr. Malik Fernando – Secretary
  • Prof. Indika Gawarammana
  • Dr. Kalana Maduwage
  • Dr. Namal Rathnayake
  • Dr. Anjana Silva
  • Dr. S. Sivansuthan
  • Dr. N. Suganthan

We welcome suggestions for making this site more useful. E-mail your comments to the SLMA “For attention Snakebite Committee”