Medicinal Drugs Committee

Medicinal Drugs Committee

Objectives of the committee:

  • To educate medical officers on Rational Use of Medicines
  • To educate the public on how to use medicines prescribed effectively
  • To support and provide guidance to the Ministry of Health on medicinal drug related matters

Members and office-bearers:
Prof Gita Fernando – Chairperson
Dr Pradeepa Jayawardane – Secretary
Dr Sarath Gamini De Silva
Dr Lucian Jayasuriya
Dr Chandanie Wanigatunge
Prof Shalini Sr Ranganathan
Prof Priyadarshani Galappaththy
Dr Srimathi Jayaratne
Dr Manuj Weerasinghe
MS Chinta Abeywardane
Representative of Pharmaceutical Chamber

Contact person:
Dr Pradeepa Jayawardanen (Secretary, Medicinal Drugs Committee)
Department of Pharmacology
Faculty of Medical Sciences
University of Sri Jayawardenapura

A brief outline of activities for 2015:

  • Printing of Patient Information Leaflets in Sinhala, Tamil and English
  • Education of medical practitioners on Recent Advances in Therapeutics – The Medicines Updates Lecture Series
  • Support the Ministry of Health on medicinal drug related matters