Call For SLMA Orations 2017




Applications are invited for the following Orations to be held during 2017.


  1. SLMA Oration
  2. S C Paul Oration
  3. Sir Nicholas Attygalle Oration
  4. Sir Marcus Fernando Oration
  5. Murugesar Sinnetamby Oration
  6. Prof. N D W Lionel Memorial Oration
  7. Dr S Ramachandran Oration


The SLMA Oration, S C Paul Oration, Prof. N D W Lionel Memorial Oration and the Dr S Ramachandran Oration will be held during the 130th Anniversary International Medical Congress of the Sri Lanka Medical Association which will be held from 13th – 16th July, 2017 at the Galadari Hotel, Colombo. The SLMA Oration is the most prestigious oration of the Association. Instituted in 1979 it recognizes outstanding achievement in research. It is delivered at the Inaugural Ceremony of the Anniversary International Medical Congress of the SLMA. Hence the contents of the oration should be appropriate for a medical audience. Substantial proportion of the work should be conducted in Sri Lanka and/ or should have relevance to medicine in Sri Lanka. The oration should be based on a substantial body of original research. Orations based on work published in peer reviewed journals will be given priority. In the case of multi-author research and publications the applicant should inform the other authors of his/her presentation and detail the contribution to design, data collection, analysis and writing of the manuscript by the applicant. A separate sheet which indicates the publications on which the oration is based should be attached to the submission. The Murugesar Sinnetamby Oration should be preferably on a topic pertaining to Obstetrics & Gynaecology.


Format for submission


  • The oration should be written in full. The IMRAD format is suggested unless the content requires otherwise.
  • For all research involving human or animal subjects, state Ethics Clearance in the methods section. Randomized Control Trials should have been registered in a WHO recognized Clinical Trial Registry.
  • The oration should be typed using Times New Roman size 12, line spacing double. Harvard or Vancouver system of referencing can be used.


 The manuscript should be accompanied by a separate document which indicates the following;


  1. The impact of the research in terms of advancing scientific knowledge, quality of clinical care and improvement of service delivery.
  2. In case of multi-author research/publications, the contribution of the applicant to design, data collection, analysis and writing of publications/ manuscript.
  3. A declaration by the applicant that the other authors of the presented research have no objections to the submission of the oration.
  4. The applicant should declare if all or part of the work included in the manuscript has already been presented as an oration.
  5. Declaration of financial and other conflicts of interests.
  6. A covering letter should indicate the oration/orations for which the manuscript should be considered.



Closing date for all orations will be 31st March 2017. Five copies of the scripts should be submitted. Of these, two (2) copies should be with the name of the author and three (3) copies should be without the name of the author. Each copy should be accompanied with a brief resume of the salient points in one sheet of paper (A4 size) indicating the contribution made to advances in knowledge on the subject. Further particulars may be obtained from the SLMA office.



Free Papers and posters: Closing date: 31st March 2017.


The following prizes will be awarded for Free Papers and Posters accepted for presentation at the 130th Anniversary International Medical Congress:


  1. E M Wijerama
  2. S E Seneviratna
  3. H K T Fernando
  4. Sir Nicholas Attygalle
  5. Wilson Peiris
  6. Daphne Attygalle (Cancer)
  7. Sir Frank Gunasekera (Community Medicine and Tuberculosis)
  8. Kumaradasa Rajasuriya (Research Tropical Medicine)
  9. Special prize in cardiology
  10. SLMA prize for the best poster
  11. S Ramachandran (Nephrology)

Please note that all submissions should be made electronically through the online abstract submission system. More details can be found on the SLMA Conference website (


CNAPT Award: Applications are invited from doctors and others for the best research publication (article, book chapter or book) in medicine or in an allied field, published in the year 2016, for the Richard and Sheila Peiris Memorial Award. All material should be in triplicate.

 Closing date: 31st March 2017.


GR Handy Award: Applications are invited from Sri Lankans, for the best publications in cardiovascular diseases published in the year 2016 for the G R Handy Memorial award. All material should be in triplicate.

Closing date: 31st March 2017.


Professor Wilfred S E Perera Fund:

Applications are invited for travel grants from SLMA members of any specialty. Members of any Ethics Review Committee in Sri Lanka recognized under Strategic Initiative for Development of Capacity in Ethics Review (SIDCER) are also eligible to apply. Five copies of the Application should be submitted.

 Closing date: 31st March 2017.


For further details please contact:

The Honorary Secretary, SLMA

“Wijerama House”,

6, Wijerama Mawatha

Colombo 7

Telephone: 0112 693324

Fax: 0112 698802 E-mail:

Leave a Comment (0) ↓

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.